Why We Fight

On March 30th, 2007 Chris Zito was headed home from work (on his bicycle natch!) when he was hit and runned. The cowardly POS didn’t even slow down. To add insult to injury two cars following close behind the perpetrator ran over Zito’s bike and also did not stop.

Luckily Zito was able to dial 911 on his cell phone and summon help. All told he ended up with several broken vertebrae, a broken collarbone, a broken elbow, and a near week stint in the hospital.

He, like many Americans, does not have health insurance, and with the body cast he will be wearing for the next several months he is not able to work.

Click Keep Reading for more information and the WCCO video.

When we heard about this we knew that the scAVENGER! bicycle race would be a perfect opportunity to raise some money on his behalf. All proceeds from the entry fees will be going to his medical bills and lost work.

If you are able, I would suggest donating a few hours of your paycheck to the Chris Zito fund.

Donations can be made directly to:

Make Checks out to “Chris Zito Fund”
TCF Routing # 001-01-J
801 Marquette Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402-9984

And thanks to actions of the local bicycle community WCCO ran a great piece on Zito on April 3rd. The video can be seen below or on their website.

UPDATE:

Donations can now be made through paypal by using “zito@evilcycling.com” as the payee.

12 responses to “Why We Fight

  1. I was once a 5 day commuter but now that I live in the country part of Dayton it is a little harder and I do it only 1-2 days a week. However i have never met Zito but know of him and heard the story as soon as it was posted on mplsbikelove and MORC, saw the clip also. GET BETTER ZITO and I will be at the scAVENGER to benefit Zito. Good luck and be cautious all commuters/ messengers/ and cyclist of any level. See ya at the hunt. Later gus

  2. Pingback: Hello and introductions « scAVENGER!

  3. Pingback: The Great Northeast Bicycle Scavenger Hunt « Zero Per Gallon

  4. Pingback: Don't take our word for it... « The Great Northeast Meander

  5. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely pleased I came across it and I’ll
    be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  6. Great information. Lucky me I came across your
    site by chance (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

  7. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I
    could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest
    twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  8. That is a really good tip particularly to those new to the
    blogosphere. Short but very accurate info… Thank you for
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  9. Wonderful article! That is the kind of information that
    are meant to be shared around the internet.
    Disgrace on Google for not positioning this put
    up higher! Come on over and discuss with my site .
    Thanks =)

  10. Using cash instead of credit cards can help you to see how
    much you are spending. It would have been good to always have the money to start and
    complete the processes of repairing our credit histories.
    Many people will take classes that have no advantage to their career
    or life outside of school, but they have to take them any ways
    because that is the only way you can graduate.

  11. The first line of attack is eating a high protein breakfast.
    Women should take half a serving, and men should take one serving,
    mixed in the recommended amounts of water. Using a appetite
    suppressant will help to prevent hunger, which could
    result in you eating more cheat meals than you should.

  12. Excellent site. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to several friends ans additionally sharing in
    delicious. And naturally, thank you in your effort!

Leave a Reply

